Morning

This morning, I took my coffee and myself out into the backyard to enjoy the cool and the quiet.  I savored the simple pleasures that I often overlook-a flock of birds flying over the empty lot behind our house, a distant train whistle, a bird singing in a tree down the street.  I walked around the yard enjoying the feel of cool, damp grass under my bare feet, watched clouds on the horizon and drank coffee.  I need to treat myself to this more often.

(Unfortunately, while I was out there, I noticed the weeds trying to take over my little herb bed, so I’m headed back out to get rid of them before the temperature starts heading towards the triple digits predicted for today.  Reality strikes again.)

Leave a Reply

