Crowning Glory

My husband and I just spent a week taking care of our two granddaughters-Miss Priss and Little Bit.  Miss Priss is four and a half going on 18 and Little Bit just turned two-(which simply is not possible since I’m sure they just brought her home from the hospital last week.)  Their Mommy and Daddy ran away from home for a few well-deserved days on the gulf coast and we jumped at the chance to keep the girls. They are light of our lives and we keep the interstate hot between our house and theirs. It has been an exciting, exhausting and insightful week, and I thought I’d share a few observations that I made:

1. I have a new appreciation for my husband’s and my parents.  We left our kids with them many times and never thought twice about it.  They were always happy and excited to keep them, and it was so nice to get away alone for a few days knowing that our little ones were in their loving and capable hands. Now I know that as soon as we drove off with our little treasures, our parents collapsed in a heap.  A happy heap, but a heap nonetheless. 

2. In  thirty years, kids have not changed.  They still do the same things, say the same things, refuse to eat the same things and push the same limits.  I, on the other hand, have changed-a lot.  The last time I was chasing two and four year olds , I was in my twenties.  Now I’m 54 and I have found much to my chagrin, that I have a shorter fuse and a more irritable  last nerve, both of which were tried and tested to their limit this past week.  My knees don’t like going up and down stairs anymore.  My brain refuses to function in the morning if I’ve been up the night before with a sick two year old.  More than once this past week I wondered how on earth my daughter manages to be full time  mother, wife and student.  I wondered how on earth I did it 30 years ago-and I wasn’t even going to school; and I wondered if I was going to make it through the week. But I found that in spite of the frayed tempers, the aching joints and the lack of sleep, I loved every single minute of it.  I even discovered that I can still climb over a locked gate and not fall off.  (However, that’s another story for another time)

3. Remember the song “The Second Time Around”?   Well, it’s not just true for romantic love, it’s true for grandbaby love too. Maple syrup kisses are sweeter, little arms around my neck are more precious, and “knock-knock” jokes are funnier when told by a four year old granddaughter who then laughs hysterically.  Little tears are more heart-wrenching, bedtime prayers are more sacred, and the world is brighter and more miraculous when viewed through the eyes of a grandchild.

In Proverbs 17:6 a very wise man said that “Grandchildren are the crown of grandparents…” .   I couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

